Critical care is physically and emotionally demanding on both professionals and their patients.

Our patients are at the extreme limits of survival and we are there 24/7 to care for them and their families. Recruitment and retention of staff is problematic and burnout common. ICS Awards aim to recognise, celebrate and share the exceptional achievements of the whole multi-professional critical care team. So, we have invited applications for a team(s), colleague(s) or project that falls in to one or more of the categories below. 

Join us on Tuesday 20 October 2020, 6:30pm - 7:30pm for our virtual awards. To register for fee, click here.

If you have any questions regarding the awards process, please contact:

A full list of our shortlisted nominees can be found below. 

Innovation Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team who has developed new innovative ideas, techniques or equipment which have led to significant improvements in patient care.


  • Cambridge Microarray Investigators (CMI) group - led by Dr Vilas Navapurkar at Addenbrooke’s Hospital
  • East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust “Post Critical Care Rehabilitation Group”
  • Sam Goodhand at Kent Surrey & Sussex School of Anaesthesia
  • Sheena Wright at Wrightington, Wigan & Leigh NHS Foundation Trust - Risk Assessment Tool to Prevent Unsafe Redeployment of Nursing Staff from Critical Care


Patient-centred care Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team whose project has demonstrated a patient-centred approach to improving care outcomes.


  • Altanchimeg Sainbayar, Mongolian National University of Medical Sciences
  • Annie Martin, Katherine Atkin, Bryony Lewis, Kate Harman, Ben McCleary, Allaina Eden Royal Papworth Hospital
  • Claire Randell, The Newcastle Upon Tyne NHS Foundation Trust
  • Frida Burnet, Royal Papworth Hospital
  • Kate Tantam, University Hospital Plymouth
  • National Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) service, Royal Papworth Hospital
  • PACMEN Team, Belfast Health & Social Care Trust
  • The EMPOWER team, University Hospitals Southampton
  • William English and Sarah Bean, Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust


Improvement Project Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team whose project has demonstrated measurable improvement via implementation of a sustainable change in the provision of patient care.


  • Acute Multidisciplinary Tracheostomy Team at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals
  • Fiqry Fadhlillah at Whittington Hospital - Emergency Airway Management: A Look into the Practice, Rate of Success, and Adverse Events of 94 Endotracheal Intubations and Introduction of Measures to Improve Success Rate
  • Joanne McPeake and the InS:PIRE Programme (Intensive Care Syndrome: Promoting Independence and Return to Employment)
  • Justin Roberts, Jenny Oakley, Emma Watson, Shaun Morgan, Christine Fothergill, Christine Barnes at East Lancashire Teaching Hospitals for their IV drug monographs
  • Multidisciplinary Tracheostomy Team at Wythenshawe Hospital (Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust)

Welfare and wellbeing Award

Recognises and celebrates an individual/team who has prioritised workforce welfare and wellbeing in the workplace.


  • East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust Critical Care Unit, East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Gilly Fleming & Anna Stout, NHS Lothian
  • Julie Patrick-Heselton, Royal Liverpool Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Parnika Sharma, Whittington Health NHS Trust
  • Shashikumar Chandrashekaraiah, Lancashire Teaching Hospital NHS Trust
  • Staff wellbeing and diversity group, University College London Hospitals NHS Trust
  • The Southmead ICU consultants- Specialty Lead Aidan Marsh, Educational supervisor Debbie Harris, Southmead Hospital


Research Award

Recognises and rewards a research team whose work has had a major impact on critical care service provision.


  • Eve Corner, Brunel University London (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust)
  • Gill Arbane and Research Nurses, Guy’s & St Thomas’ Hospital London
  • Jerry Nolan, Royal United Hospital Bath
  • Royal Liverpool critical care research team, Royal Liverpool Hospitals NHS Trust

Education Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team who has developed a sustainable education programme at local/regional/national level to improve patient care.


  • Andy Aswani, Simon Sparkes and colleagues – Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital London
  • Anna Stout & Gilly Fleming for Trainee Anaesthetists and Intensivists in Education (TRAINED) group
  • Bath Intensive Care Unit ‘Tea Trolley Training’ Team – Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust
  • Carmel Whiting at The Royal Shrewsbury and Telford Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Glenfield Echo Education Team at Glenfield Hospital, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
  • John Walmsley, Sally Fray, Eve Knowles, Alison Scott and Victoria Burton - Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS trust
  • Laura Strachan and Richard Appleton for the “Scottish Intensive Care Society e-learning modules”.
  • Medical Education Team at NHS Blood and Transplant (NHSBT)
  • The Pan-London Critical Care Intravenous Therapy Programme - North London Critical Care Networks
  • Critical Care Education team at Royal Papworth Hospital
  • Parjam Zolfaghari, course director of The Queen Mary University of London Masters in Critical Care Distance Learning Course.
  • Theophilus Luke Samuels for the Critical Care Ultrasonography Training Programme – Surrey & Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Samantha Cook at Greater Manchester Critical Care Skills Institute
  • Samantha Hendry & Kelie Beever at Royal Liverpool University Hospital
  • Shashikumar Chandrashekaraiah and the Lancashire Teaching Hospitals Simulation team - Lancashire Teaching hospitals NHS Trust